A co-commission and co-production between Music Theatre Wales and Scottish Opera Music: Huw Watkins Libretto: David Harsent based on a short story by Thomas Hardy


First Performance: Thursday 27 September 2012 – Linbury Theatre, Royal Opera House


Ella Ruby Hughes

Susan Louise Winter

Stephen Paul Curievici

Pascoe Håkan Vramsmo


Michael Rafferty Conductor

Michael McCarthy Director

Samal Blak Designer

Ace McCarron Lighting Designer


“The tragedy which ensues is adroitly handled by Harsent, but it is Huw Watkins' score which brings it to dramatic life. Leanly but purposefully orchestrated, it is marked by a tensely repressed sensuality and some beautifully modulated vocal writing.. thanks to the sustained and enmeshed economy and focus of text and music, I was gripped throughout. Michael McCarthy's lucid and supple production is expertly executed by the cast of four."

The Telegraph

Newsletter Sign up for all the latest updates

All Production Photography Clive Barda unless otherwise stated | All copyright Music Theatre Wales. Company Registration Number: 02815692 VAT Number: 615 5203 70 Registered Charity Number: 1039757

Privacy statement Website by Core